Canada page3-14
   Northwest Territories;  

The Land

The Northwest Territories (N.W.T.) lie north of the 60th parallel,
above Saskatchewan, Alberta, and eastern British Columbia,
and between the Yukon and Nunavut.
These dimensions represent a recent change.
With the creation of Nunavut on April 1, 1999,
the area of the former Northwest Territories,
which stretched from the Yukon east to Baffin Island
and included all of the Arctic archipelago,
was reduced by approximately two-thirds,
from 3 426 320 km2 to 1 171 918 km2.

This is not the first time that the Northwest Territories
has undergone dramatic boundary changes.
At one point or another during the N.W.T.'s history,
it has included all of Alberta, Saskatchewan and the
Yukon and most of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

Like the Yukon, the Northwest Territories can be divided
into two broad geographical regions: the taiga a boreal
forest belt that circles the subarctic zone; and the tundra,
a rocky Arctic region where the cold climate has stunted
Remarkable features include the Great Bear Lake (31328 km2 ,
eighth largest in the world); the Great Slave Lake
(28 568 km2, tenth largest in the world); and the Mackenzie
River (Canada's longest), which flows 4241 km
from the Great Slave Lake to the Beaufort Sea.


The History

The ancestors of the Dene Indian people lived along the
Mackenzie Valley in the N.W.T. 10 000 years ago.
The first Inuit are believed to have crossed the Bering Strait
about 5000 years ago, spreading east along the Arctic coast.

In 1789, Alexander Mackenzie discovered the Mackenzie River
and followed it to its mouth at the Arctic Ocean.
Fur traders soon established posts in the Mackenzie River basin.
Late in the next century, missions were founded in the area.
The Europeans reshaped the North, bringing with them a new
economy and way of life.
Communities grew around trading posts, mission schools
and Royal Canadian Mounted Police stations.

In 1870, the British government transferred control of the
North-Western Territory to Canada.
Ten years later, the British government annexed the islands
of the Arctic archipelago, which also became part
of the Territories.

In 1905, both Alberta and Saskatchewan were created from the
Finally in 1912, the provinces of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec
were enlarged, fixing the Northwest Territories with a size
and shape that remained unchanged until 1999,
when Nunavut was established.

By World War II, mineral exploration and the military were
playing a role in northern development, prompting a more active
interest in the N.W.T. by the rest of Canada.


Government and Politics

The N.W.T. government has the same general responsibilities
as provincial governments: taxation, municipal bodies, education,
wildlife, health and hospital services, forest management,
housing, social services and economic development.
It lacks jurisdiction over land and resource administration,
including control over the pace and scale of resource
development and subsurface water rights.

The issue of settling Aboriginal land claims in the N.W.T.
emerged in the 1970s. In 1984, a final agreement was reached with
the Inuvialuit of the western Arctic; it provided some
2500 people with 91000 km2 of land, financial compensation,
social development funding, hunting rights and a greater role
in wildlife management, conservation and environmental protection.

In 1992, the Gwich'in settled a comprehensive land claim that
provided 22 422 km2 of land in the Yukon; subsurface rights;
a share in the resource royalties derived from the
Mackenzie River Valley; tax-free capital transfers;
hunting rights; a greater role in the management of wildlife,
land and the environment; and the right of first refusal on a
variety of activities related to wildlife.

The year 1993 saw the conclusion of the Nunavut land claims
It was the largest land claim ever settled in Canada.
The agreement gave Inuit control of more than 350 000 km2 of
land (of which 36 000 km2 include mineral rights),
more than $14 billion over 14 years, and guaranteed participation
in decisions on land and resource management.
In April 1999, according to the agreement, the former
Northwest Territories was divided, creating the new
territory of Nunavut.


The People

The present population of the N.W.T. is approximately 40 000.
Dene, Inuvialuit and Métis make up 48%, non-Aboriginals about 52%.
Most live in small communities; Yellowknife, the capital,
has a population of more than 15 000.

The Economy

The economy relies heavily on resource industries subject to
wide fluctuations in world markets.
Mining is by far the largest private industrial sector of the
N.W.T. economy. Oil and gas exploration and development are
also important.

The Aboriginal peoples' traditional subsistence activities--fishing,
hunting and trapping--also have an impact on the N.W.T. economy.
Sports fishing and big-game hunting play a small role as well.
Commercial fishery development in the N.W.T.--freshwater and
saltwater--is being encouraged.
Fur harvesting continues to be very important,
supplementing the income of many Aboriginal families.

Recently, tourism has become increasingly important.
The N.W.T. offers a variety of landscapes of great natural beauty,
conductive to fishing, wildlife observation and other
outdoor activities.

The settling of northern land claims sets the stage for
increased economic activity in which all can share
and have a voice.
However, development, which is welcome and necessary for
economic prosperity, will need to be managed so as not
to threaten the fragile Arctic ecosystem and the traditional
lifestyles of the northern peoples.


   Canada    Yukon
   Northwest Territories    Nunavut
   British Columbia    Alberta
   Saskatchwan    Manitoba
   Ontario    Quebec
   Newfoundland    New Brunswick
   Prince Edward Island    Nova Scotia



I call This Page
The Ever Changing page
This month Happy Easter

Page 12: Page 13: Page 14:
Page 15: Page 16: Page 17:
Page 18: Page 19: Page 20:
Page 21: Page 22: Page 23:


Maple Leaf   Proud CanadianMaple Leaf
has been visited times.